Board of Supervisors

As with the other 81 counties in Mississippi, the Lowndes County government is headed by an elected 5-member Board of Supervisors. Each county is divided into five districts and each district elects a supervisor who serves a four-year term. The current supervisor’s term is from January 2016 through December 2019.  While each supervisor is elected from their district, Lowndes County is a unit county and each supervisor is expected to govern the county as a whole. The board speaks only through its minutes by a majority vote (3 votes).

Supervisors, who by law are part-time officials, are the chief policy and administrative body of county government. One of their main duties is to approve county spending through an annual budget and tax county residents to pay for that spending. Supervisors can also borrow money in the name of the county. They can pass ordinances and regulations.

The Lowndes County Board of Supervisors meets two to three times a month. By law the board is required to meet the first Monday of the month. Lowndes Supervisors sometimes meet on the 15th and last day of the month. Meetings begin at 9 a.m. and are open to the public. See the board calendar for a list of scheduled meetings.

2019 Board Meeting Calendar


  • District One – Harry Sanders, President

  • District Two – Trip Hairston

  • District Three – John Holliman, Vice-President

  • District Four – Jeff Smith

  • District Five – Leroy Brooks